2015年8月21日
大学师生监察无良企业行动/Human Rights Now/中国劳动透视

2015年1月,大学师生监察无良企业行动(SACOM)联合总部位于东京的国际人权组织Human Rights Now (HRN)和总部位于香港,关注中国劳工权利的劳工组织中国劳工透视(LAC),发布了一份关于优衣库旗下部分中国供货商用工条件的调查报告 ,透过报告以及在东京举行的记者会,揭露优衣库中国供货商互太纺织控股有限公司〈下称互太〉与东莞联泰制衣有限公司〈下称联泰〉内部恶劣的工作条件和一系列侵犯劳动权利的行为。
紧随调查报告的公布,迅销集团(下称迅销)承认报告中关于恶劣用工条件的部分事实,订立工作条件改善措施行动计划,并同时与HRN、SACOM、LAC开展对话。在迅销公开此行动计划后,SACOM和HRN与其进行了两次对话,并于2015年2月发布联合声明《促请UNIQLO(优衣库)持续改善监察供货商劳动条件的制度》 ,呼吁迅销根据国际劳工标准贯彻更多全面而有效的措施。然而,迅销自2015年3月以来无视我们的要求,单方面中止与SACOM和HRN的实质对话,并在六月底通知我们,他们将于七月发布一份进度报告。

2015年7月31日,迅销公开企业社会责任行动 ,解释其针对先前调查报告中所提及的中国供货商,所采取的完善车间监督和改进工作条件的行动进度。该报告并未提供改善过程的详细信息,尽管迅销声称已采取一定的措施来改善其供货商的工作条件,然而SACOM在该企业社会责任行动发布之后进行了一次跟进调查,所获得的信息显示迅销所声称的部分措施未能充分落实。SACOM 收到的信息如下 :

违法加班
在工人工资和工作时数方面,尽管在此企业社会责任行动中,两家工厂现已依法支付工人加班工资并且保证七休一,但是两家工厂的基本工资和计件工资仍然非常低。因此,加班费始终为工人总体月薪的重要组成部分,工人也只能通过加班工作来获得较合理的工资。根据互太和联泰的工人所述,为了糊口,每个月他们分别必须加班约80和100小时,严重超过了法定加班时间 。

工人的健康和工作环境
随着我们的报告发布,于工作场所暴露在粉尘中的互太工人获得免费的定期医疗检查;根据迅销的企业社会责任行动,于粉尘指数高于安全标准区域工作的联泰工人亦将于八月底之前获得医疗检查。但是,这两家工厂使用的是何种化学物质,仍然不得而知。针对两家工厂的不安全和高危险工作环境,在我们的报告发布以后,互太进行窗户改装、改良通风设备,降低温度,增加排水渠。联泰也安装空调以降低温度、并将原先的一般口罩改为防尘口罩。然而,根据工人所述,只有当社会审核员出现时,裁剪车间的工人才能拿到防尘口罩,这一情况与迅销在声明中的说法相互抵触。

未被真正代表的工人
根据两家工厂的工人反映,工人仍然未被真正代表。联泰的工人表示,代表并非直接由工人选举,工人指称管理层选择倾向于站在他们那边的工人,要求全体工人投票给这个工人,其他工人并没有参选的权利;互太的工人则声称,尽管委员会议确实有举行,他却没有权利参与选举工人代表的过程。按照工人的说法,联泰与互太的工人皆未能自由选择在与管理层的定期会议中传达他们的声音,为他们争取劳工权利的代表。

根据以上工人向SACOM提出的声称,我们要求迅销重新对两家工厂进行调查,同时促请迅销对其两间生产合作伙伴采取以下改善方案:
1) 竭尽全力提升基本工资和计件工资,从而使工人无需为了糊口而违法加班工作。
2) 长期为车间的工人提供充足的防护设备。
3) 向公众和工人公开在两间工厂所使用的所有化学品,并对工人的医疗保健采取必要的措施。
4) 确保工会的代表由全体工人的意志选举产生,选举过程公平公正。

我们认可迅销透过与FLA的合作,展现他们以透明的方式公开审核结果的意愿。但是,仅仅委托FLA,并不能完全确保审核或者企业社会责任计划的透明度和可信度。我们将紧密监察迅销内部和外部的审核结果。除此以外,非常遗憾这一企业社会责任计划并未提及公开供货商的名单或确保生活工资的举措,此两点均是HRN与SACOM于2015年2月发表的联合声明中所呼吁的。

Human Rights Now、SACOM及LAC将会继续监督迅销的行动和提供建设性方案,以保证迅销按照《联合国工商企业与人权指导原则》落实负责任的供货商管理,包括我们所调查的两间工厂的管理,亦即互太纺织控股有限公司以及东莞联泰制衣有限公司。因此我们重申诉求,希望迅销集团与我们重启对话,讨论更加全面深入的改善措施。

____________________________________________________________________________
1 《优衣库中国供货商的工作条件调查报告》,详见http://hrn.or.jp/eng/news/2015/01/12/investigative-report-on-the-working-conditions-in-uniqlos-china-suppliers/。
2 《促请UNIQLO(优衣库)持续改善监察供货商劳动条件的制度》,详见:http://hrn.or.jp/eng/news/2015/02/11/joint-statement-go-beyond-a-short-term-improvement-in-uniqlos-suppliers/。
3 “企业社会责任行动”,《迅销促进提升生产合作伙伴的工作条件》,详见:http://www.fastretailing.com/eng/csr/news/1507311700.html。
4 按照《中华人民共和国劳动法》第41条,法定加班时数不能超过每月36小时。

August 21st, 2015
Students & Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour
Human Rights Now
abour Action China

In January 2015, Students & Scholars Against Misbehaviour (SACOM), in association with Human Rights Now (HRN), a Tokyo-based human rights organization, and Labour Action China (LAC), a Hong Kong-based labour organisation addressing labour rights in China, released an investigative report on the working conditions of some Chinese suppliers for UNIQLO. The report as well as press conferences held in Tokyo exposed harsh working condition as well as a series of labour rights violations in the investigated UNIQLO suppliers in China.

Right after the release of the investigative report, FAST RETAILING CO., LTD. (hereinafter FR) acknowledged part of the facts about the harsh working conditions indicated by the investigative report and published an action plan to improve the situation while engaging in dialogue with HRN,SACOM and LAC. Following the release of the FR action plan on the improvement measures for working conditions, SACOM and HRN had two dialogues with FR, and in February 2015 published a joint statement, “Go Beyond a Short-term Improvement in UNIQLO’s suppliers”, calling on FR to implement more comprehensive and effective measures according to international labour standards. However, since March 2015, FR has stopped having substantive dialogue with SACOM and HRN, despite requests made by both organizations. Instead, FR informed us in late June that they are going to publish a progress report by July.

On 31 July 2015, FR released “CSR Action” explaining the progress of actions FR has taken to enhance workplace monitoring and to advance working conditions in the investigated Chinese suppliers. The CSR Action report has not provided detailed information on progress, although FR claimed that it has taken certain measures to correct the working conditions in its suppliers. However, when SACOM conducted a follow-up investigation after the release of CSR Action, SACOM received some information suggesting that the measures reported by FR have not actually been implemented on the ground. The information received by SACOM is as follows:

Illegal Overtime Work
Regarding workers’ wages and working hours, although both factories pay workers overtime pay in accordance to the law and provide one rest day every week under the CSR Action report, the basic wage and piece rate in the two factories remain quite low. As a result, overtime pay continues to be an important part of workers’ total monthly salary, and workers have to work overtime to earn a decent wage. According to the workers in Pacific and Tomwell, in order to make ends meet, each month they have to work overtime for approximately 80 and 100 hours respectively, which severely exceeds the statutory overtime working hours.

Worker’s Health and Working Environment
Following our report, workers in Pacific who work under the exposure of dust receive a free medical check regularly. Also, according to CSR Action, medical checks will be provided by the end of August for the workers in Tomwell who work in areas with dust levels higher than the safe standard. However, the kinds of chemical materials that have been used in the two factories are still unknown. Regarding the unsafe and high-risk working environment in the two factories, after our report, Pacific has begun construction and renovation on windows, improved ventilation, reduced temperature and increased drain channeling. Also Tomwell installed air conditioning to reduce the temperature and changed dust protective masks provided for workers. However, according to workers in the cutting section of Tomwell, they only get dust protective masks when the social auditor comes, which contradicts what FR claimed in its statement.

Inauthentic Representation of Workers
According to workers in the two factories, they remain inauthentically represented. Instead of workers electing labour representatives directly, the workers in Tomwell claimed that the management selected the worker who tends to be on their side and then asked all workers to vote for him in the election while no other candidates were allowed to run. The worker in Pacific claimed that although a committee meeting between the management and worker representatives was held, the workers didn’t have the right to be involved in the voting process of a labour representative. In other words, workers in the two factories claimed that workers do not have the freedom to elect their own representatives who can let their voices be heard and fight for labour rights in the regular meetings with the management.

According to the above claims raised by the workers and given to SACOM, we ask FR to revisit the two factories to investigate the facts. We also appeal to FR to take the following corrective measures to its two production partners:
1) Make all effort to raise the basic wage and piece rate in the two factories so that the workers don’t need to illegally work overtime to make a decent wage.
2) Provide protective equipment to the workers in the workplace at all times.
3) Disclose all chemical materials used in two factories to the public and also to the workers, and take necessary measures for workers’ health care.
4) Ensure that the union representative is elected by the genuine will of workers in a fair election.

We recognise FR’s decision to affiliate with FLA, which shows their willingness to disclose the auditing result in transparent manner. However, the transparency and accountability of auditing and CSR actions must not be exhausted by merely entrusting FLA. We will closely monitor FR’s internal and external auditing results. Besides this, it is also regrettable that the CSR Action report mentioned neither the disclosure of a supplier list nor measures to ensure living wages, which we requested in our joint statement with SACOM published in February 2015.

Human Rights Now, SACOM and LAC will continue to monitor FR’s actions and provide constructive proposals to ensure that FR practices responsible management of suppliers based on the United Nations Guiding Principles for Business and Human Rights, including management of the two factories we investigated, namely Pacific Textiles Ltd. and Dongguan Luen Thai Garment Co. Ltd. Also, we reiterate our request that FR resume dialogue with us to discuss approaches for more comprehensive measures.

________________________________________________________________________________
1“Investigative Report on the Working Conditions in UNIQLO’s Chinese Suppliers”, http://hrn.or.jp/eng/news/2015/01/12/investigative-report-on-the-working-conditions-in-uniqlos-china-suppliers/
2“Go Beyond a Short-term Improvement in UNIQLO’s suppliers”, http://hrn.or.jp/eng/news/2015/02/11/joint-statement-go-beyond-a-short-term-improvement-in-uniqlos-suppliers/
3 CSR Action, “ Fast Retailing Advances Working Conditions at its Production Partners”, http://www.fastretailing.com/eng/csr/news/1507311700.html
4 According to Chinese Labour Law Article 41, the statutory overtime working hours shall not exceed 36 hours per month.