去年,由SACOM丶国际工会联合会香港联络处(IHLO)丶英国团体War on Want及乾净衫运动国际网络(Clean Clothes Campaign) 联合出版《窒息的生产──危机四伏的中国牛仔衣饰工厂》的调查报告 [1] 揭示中国牛仔服饰工厂工人缺乏职安健及其他用工条件保障,而且工厂仍广泛使用可导致尘肺病的喷砂工序 [2]。当时,SACOM联同团体发起了全球行动,要求相关牛仔服饰品牌回应及立即改善工厂情况。

今年二至四月,SACOM回访了其中两间工厂,结果发现工厂仍未有依照中国法例保护工人权益及生命健康。该两间工厂的客户包括American Eagle, Hollister, Levi’s, GAP, Wal-mart, H&M等多个国际知名时装品牌。

这些品牌的牛仔裤售价动辄几百元港币,可是工人为每条牛仔裤加工计件工资只有几毛钱人民币。微薄薪资令他们每天长时间工作以维持生计。两间工厂克扣工人加班工资 [3] 及工资单上没有如实反映工资计算实况的情况亦非常严重。其中,为American Eagle及Hollister生产的工厂更以订单不稳定为由,要求工人免费待命,也违反了内地劳动法每七天至少休息一天(俗称七休一)的法规。

工厂在生产过程中没有为工人提供足够的职前职安健培训及适当的劳动保护装备;而在制造牛仔裤的过程中使用的喷砂(sandblasting)丶手擦(hand-sanding)丶化学品喷染(chemical spraying)丶打磨(polishing)等生产工序,会释出的大量棉絮丶矽粉尘,化学气体,可令工人患上尘肺病丶棉尘肺丶肺癌等严重职业病。

种种情况令我们质疑以上牛仔裤品牌承担社会企业责任的决心,我们敦促他们立即:

1. 停用喷砂工序;

2. 提供足够及适当的职前培训和劳动保护装备;

3. 每年为工人提供定期身体检查,并必须为职业病工人作出赔偿;

4. 依法支付工人的加班工资;

5. 限制每月加班时数不得超过法定的36小时;

6. 提供完整及资料正确的工资单予工人;

7. 公开完整供应商列表,让消费者进行监察;

8. 支持工人建立由民主直接选举产生的工会

大学师生监察无良企业行

Updated Jeans investigative report

更新《牛仔褲工人的慘痛代價》報告中文撮要


[1] 當年報告中文簡介:http://www.sacom.hk/hk/archives/2373

[2] 噴砂是一種以高壓噴槍將微細矽砂高速噴射在牛仔布料進行破爛效果加工的工序。早於2009年土耳其政府已立法禁止噴砂工序,但中國沒有就此立法。

[3] 按照中國勞動法,工人在平日、周末或節假日加班,工資會分別以1.5倍、2倍或3倍計算。

5 September 2014, Hong Kong

Last year, a joint report entitled Breathless for Blue Jeans: Health Hazards in China’s denim factories[1] by SACOM, ITUC/GUF Hong Kong Liaison Office (IHLO), War on Want and Clean Clothes Campaign found workers lack the occupational health and safety protection and their working condition remain exploitative and the deadly sandblasting[2] was still common in the industry. SACOM and other groups launched a global campaign and urged the involved brands to respond and improve the working condition immediately.

From this February to April, SACOM reinvestigated two of the investigated factories, and we found that the factories did not protect workers’ rights and their health and safety according to the Chinese Labour Law. The two factories are suppliers of renowned brands such as American Eagle, Hollister, Levi’s, GAP, Wal-mart and H&M.

It costs a few hundred Hong Kong dollars for each pair of jeans but workers are earning as little as a few jiao[3] for producing each pair of jeans. The meager wage led them to long working hours. The factories ate up workers’ extra remuneration of overtime hours[4] and provided invalid monthly pay statement to workers. The factory supplied to American Eagle and Hollister even used the fluctuated order from buyers as an excuse to ask workers be on call without pay; they violated the Law’s requirement on rest day arrangement.

Workers were not provided with adequate and appropriate protective gears, they also did not have proper training and were not informed on the risks of the chemicals they use everyday. Worse still, in order to produce trendy distressed jeans, sandblasting, hand-sanding, chemical spraying, polishing etc. were used in the production which create a lot of dust mixed with silica sand, fabric fibre, chemical vapour, extended inhalation of these particles can cause severe respiratory diseases and silicosis. From these conditions, we doubt the brands’ commitment to their corporate social responsibility and we urge them to

  1. ban sandblasting immediately;
  2. provide adequate and appropriate training and protective gear to workers;
  3. provide annual regular medical checkup to workers and compensate to those who suffer from occupational diseases;
  4. pay overtime extra remuneration according to the Chinese Labour Law;
  5. limit excessive overtime hours to 36 hours monthly;
  6. provide pay slip with full and genuine information to workers;
  7. maintain transparency to public by disclosing full supply list where their products were manufactured;
  8. support the set up of fully worker-represented trade union in their supplier by direct and   democratic election

Students & Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour

Updated Jeans investigative report


Promotional video of “The human cost of high-end jeans” report:


[1] Retrieve the full report of Breathless for Blue Jeans at http://www.sacom.hk/hk/archives/2373

[2] Sandblasting is a method of distressing denim by blasting sand through high speed compressor gun onto denim fabric.

[3] Jiao is currency units of Renminbi, 10 Jiao equals to 1 Yuan.

[4] The Chinese Labour Law requires extra renumeration of 150%, 200% and 300% of normal pay to workers on weekdays, weekends and statutory holidays respectively.