今日(2月28日),苹果在美国举行一年一度的股东大会。大学师生监察无良企业行动趁此机会再此促请苹果电脑立即采取有效行动,履行企业社会责任,改善其产品供应商及代工厂的劳动状况。

尽管苹果电脑在2014年财政年度的首季营业额录得576亿美元进帐,纯利高达130.1亿美元[1],不过在流水线上日夜赶工的工人却未能分得任何成果。苹果最近公布的供应商企业社会责任报告自吹自擂各项功绩,可是SACOM质疑工人是否真正有所得益:

1.      取巧的工时控制成果

苹果电脑宣称其代工厂在控制每周工时不超过60小时方面的成效平均达95%。首先,「平均」的意思十分空泛。而且,代工厂在「异常或紧急情况下」的工时是不在此限的。这个政策漏洞容许代工厂在生产高峰期疯狂加班。工时过多的源头根本就是苹果的零存货政策。此外,苹果根本没有理会现行中国劳动法对於每周工时最多不能超过48小时的要求。

SACOM 在2013年的调查中,发现最少一间苹果代工厂在工人入职时要求工人签署自愿加班申请书,说明了厂商有办法为苹果的查厂人员提供「合法」的证据,证明工人自愿加班[2]

2.      缺乏工人参与的整改计划

苹果电脑宣扬自己在创立苹果代工厂环境丶健康与安全(EHS)学院的功劳。报告指长达18个月的学习计划有60间代工厂的240个管理人员参与,能让 27万工人得益。计划要求参加者学以致用,在回到工厂时运用所学开展计划。实际上,前线工人只是「被代表」,没有参与其中;而且参加者在回厂之後的计划内容以至计划是否有推行过等都是无从证实的。

SACOM 批评苹果电脑所谓的整改及教育计划取巧失实,欠缺透明度,计划成效及其对工人所能产生的正面作用更是成疑。

3.        消失了的工人选举及工人代表

苹果电脑声称为确保工人声音得到充份反映,举办多个培训计划,协助工人与管理层之间的沟通。可是,这些培训计划只限管理层参与,工人都被排拒在外。

SACOM对於苹果电脑的长期生产夥伴富士康於2013年5月公开违反其工厂工会改选的承诺感到非常失望。在此之後,受苹果电脑委托的公平劳工协会(FLA)就富士康位於成都丶龙华和观澜工厂的整改计划核实报告对劳资关系处理方面更是绝口不提。

我们相信畅通无阻的沟通是解决苹果电脑生产链内各项劳工问题的最佳办法。前线工人应有机会参与各项培训计划,苹果电脑更有责任支持工人依照中国工会法自由结社,协助他们成立真正有效的工会。

4.        漠视学生工遭受剥削

过去有不少调查报告[3]揭示学生工被强迫在苹果电脑代工厂实习,参加与本科教育无关的实习工作,被剥夺接受教育的权利,更有克扣工资等情况发生。可是苹果电脑在报告中竟厚颜无耻地辩称对此全不知情,并将责任诿於职业训练学校,指它们没有履行责任,为实习学生和实习机构做好配对工作及没有提供合适的支援,也没有为品牌丶代工厂及学生提供足够的参考资料。

SACOM 对苹果电脑企图推卸责任感到愤怒!试问营业规模如此庞大,对产品质素丶生产过程都要求极高的跨国企业,怎可能不察觉学生工在其代工厂所受的各种无理剥削? 苹果电脑为确保充裕劳动力继续包庇代工厂剥削学生工的做法实在令人发指!

5.      将生产工序连带用工责任外判给供货商及工人

苹果电脑在报告中说得漂亮,称它们的企业守则是行内其中一份最严格的守则,而且一直积极推动代工厂落实执行。不过,我们从报告亦得知苹果电脑只承担了EHS 学院的部份营办经费。我们相信苹果电脑将各项整改计划的成本都转嫁到代工厂身上。

众所周知,苹果电脑在外判货单的压价能力极高,代工厂赚得相对地低的代工费,更要自掏腰包,执行苹果电脑的各项企业社会责任计划。於是,代工厂也将各项成本转嫁到工人身上。例如,代工厂在履行苹果的企业守则对工人宿舍和膳食的要求时,往往向工人收取更高的宿舍费,甚至是强制的膳食费。

SACOM 谴责苹果电脑只为外判货单,而在代工厂执行整改计划时拒绝提供合适的资源及协助!

SACOM 要求苹果电脑:

  • 检讨及重整现行之零存货政策,给予代工厂充裕的生产时间,并依照现行中国劳工法规,控制工时;
  • 提高代工单价,给予代工厂空间,从根本层面改善劳动状况;
  • 向代工厂提供必要的资源及协助作工人培训及相关整改计划;
  • 支持工人建立依照中国工会法建立有效丶能代表全体工人的工会;
  • 立即正视学生工遭剥削的问题,依法保护学生工及保障学生接受优良教育的权利;
  • 尊重公众知情权,公开更多查厂资讯,包括负责查厂的机构资料丶因违反苹果电脑企业守则而正受监察的代工厂名单等。

大学师生监察无良企业行动 (SACOM)

2014年2月28日


[1] 根据2014年1月27日出版的苹果电脑2014年首季财政报告,苹果首季营业额录得高达57.6亿美元;纯利达13.1亿美元。收入主要靠在全球卖出5,100万部 iPhone丶2,600万部 iPad 丶600万部iPod及480万台 Mac 电脑。资料来源:iPhone 和 iPad 销售录得营业额及营运利润 (Sales Drive Record Revenue and Operating Profit),https://www.apple.com/pr/library/2014/01/27Apple-Reports-First-Quarter-Results.html

[2] 大学师生监察无良企业行动。2013年报告:Stains on iPhones’ Cover Glass - Dehumanized Working Condition of Biel Crystal for Apple’s Products。

[3]大学师生监察无良企业行动於2013年出版的Apple fails in its responsibility to monitor suppliers报告亦有揭露学生工受剥削的情况。

Hong Kong, 28 February 2014

On the day of Apple’s annual general meeting, Students and Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour (SACOM) is urging Apple again to take immediate and constructive action to fulfil its corporate responsibility by improving the working conditions in its suppliers.

Despite respectable quarterly revenues of US$57.6 billion and a net quarterly profit of US$13.1 billion in the first quarter of its fiscal year of 2014[1], the company is unwilling to share its success with frontline workers – those who turn its ideas into real products. Apple’s newly published Corporate Supplier Responsibility (CSR) Progress Report projects an ideal workplace at Apple suppliers, yet we doubt workers are enjoying any benefit at all:

1.      The ambiguous achievement of reducing excessive work hours

Apple praises its success in driving its suppliers to reach an average of 95 per cent compliance of their 60-hour workweek. The concept of “average” is vague. The exception of “unusual or emergency circumstances” is indeed a loophole of the policy, denying that the root cause of the problem is Apple’s zero inventory policy. In addition, Apple is still ignoring the weekly work hour limit of 48 hours maximum as required by Chinese Labour Law.

From our investigation in 2013, we discovered at least one Apple supplier required workers to sign overtime work application on the first day of the employment training, as a way to produce “legitimate” evidence to fulfil Apple’s audit requirement[2].

2.    Absence of workers in Apple’s top-down remediation programmes

Apple claims for its contribution to improve working condition in suppliers by setting up the new Apple Supplier Environment, Health and Safety (EHS) Academy. It says the 18-month programme has included 240 management personnel from 60 suppliers and covering more than 270,000 workers. The programme “[p]articipants are… required to apply their knowledge to create and implement real-time projects at their facilities” (P. 8). However the project progress back in the factories remains unknown.

SACOM criticises Apple for playing with numbers with such an opaque programme and doubts its efficiency and positive impact to the workers.

3.      The vanished commitment of elected worker representatives in Apple suppliers

Apple states that it is “making sure workers’ voices are heard” (P. 9) by launching manager training programmes to facilitate communication between workers and managers. However, the programmes are again manager-oriented and workers’ participation is absent.

We are disappointed by Apple’s long-term production partner Foxconn’s denial of its trade union re-election pledge in May 2013. Since then, industrial relations is no longer part of the Fair Labor Association’s verification status report on Foxconn factories in Chengdu, Longhua and Guanlan.

SACOM believes that effective communication is the key to tackling the root cause of problems in Apple’s supply chain. Frontline workers should be included in training programmes and Apple has the responsibility to support workers’ freedom of association as entitled by the China’s Trade Union Law and to set up effective trade unions in its suppliers.

4.      Refusal to admit its responsibility for student interns exploitation

There have been various investigative researches[3] discovering the exploitation of student interns in Apple’s suppliers. They are forced to work in the factories though irrelevant to their studies, giving up their rights to receive a quality education. Their wages are even cut under the name of “internship fee”. Apple acts as if it was innocent of the exploitation of student interns in its suppliers. It blames the vocational schools for “often fail[ing] to perform the necessary due diligence to match students with appropriate internship opportunities or provide them with adequate support” (P. 13), and makes the excuse that students, suppliers and electronics companies (e.g. Apple itself) do not have access to sufficient available data of the vocational schools.

SACOM finds it completely absurd that such a big transnational company, which cares so much about every production detail, would not know the mismatch and exploitation of students to receive a high quality internship opportunity. It is outrageous that Apple is allowing their suppliers to exploit student interns to maintain their workforce stability.

5.      Outsourcing its production tasks and accountability to suppliers and workers

Apple says its code of conduct is “one of the toughest in the electronics industry” (P. 4) and is playing an active role to push its suppliers to fulfil them. However, from Apple’s CSR report, we know that it is only supporting some cost of the EHS Academy. We believe that suppliers have to cover the major cost of other training and specialised programmes.

Apple is known for its ability to maximise its profit margin; as a result suppliers are earning little for each order and must cover all costs to fulfil Apple’s CSR programmes and schemes. Meanwhile, suppliers are also transferring their costs to workers. For instance, Apple’s Code of Conduct has a clear requirement regarding dormitory and dining. Yet in order to fulfil it, suppliers would ask workers to pay higher dormitory rents and compulsory meal fees.

SACOM condemns Apple for outsourcing its orders while refusing to give appropriate resources and assistance to suppliers to improve working conditions in the factories.

SACOM’s demands to Apple:

  • To review and restructure their zero inventory policy to give appropriate production time to suppliers and control work hour as required by Chinese Labour Law;
  • To increase higher and reasonable pay to suppliers, tackling problems from root causes and allowing more space to suppliers to improve working condition;
  • To provide necessary resources and assistance for worker training and related remedial programmes to suppliers;
  • To support workers to build democratic trade union committees as entitled by the Chinese Trade Union Law;
  • To correct the exploitation on student interns now, protect student interns as required by the Law and protect students’ rights for a quality education;
  • To respect the public’s right-to-know by disclosing further audit information such as auditing agencies involved, and the list of suppliers that are under probation due to violation of Apple’s Code of Conduct.

Students and Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour (SACOM)

[1] According to the 2014 Q1 financial result released on 27 January 2014, Apple made a huge revenue of US$ 57.6 billion and a net profit of US$ 13.1 billion by the sales of 51 million iPhones, 26 million iPads, 6 million iPods and 4.8 million Macs all over the world. iPhone and iPad Sales Drive Record Revenue and Operating Profit. Retrieved from: https://www.apple.com/pr/library/2014/01/27Apple-Reports-First-Quarter-Results.html

[2] SACOM (2013), Stains on iPhones’ Cover Glass – Dehumanized Working Condition of Biel Crystal for Apple’s Products.

[3]One of the reports is Apple fails in its responsibility to monitor suppliers by SACOM (2013).