大学师生监察无良企业行动(SACOM)于今日(22/9)早上发布苹果公司代工厂广达计算机滥用学生工的调研报告,披露的劳权侵害引起各界哗然,大量媒体实时向苹果公司查询报告内容是否属实。苹果公司对媒体响应指「苹果与重庆广达并无生产关系」,将广达滥用学生工的恶行与自身责任划得一乾二净,然而,事实真相却与苹果公司的响应大相径庭。

首先,如我们的调研报告所述,广达计算机一直是Apple Watch 1及2的独家生产商,也是Apple Watch 3的最主要生产商,关系极为密切,广达计算机一切生产行为及劳权侵害,苹果公司责无旁贷。

其次,亦如报告所述,苹果公司已于去年决定将Apple Watch生产转移到广达计算机重庆厂房,并已于今年五月于广达重庆F0厂房正式设立「Apple生产部」,大量招募人员并于七月起送往广达计算机常熟厂房实习三个月,准备在十月于重庆厂房正式生产。就此,SACOM掌握大量确凿证据,毋庸苹果公司砌词抵赖。

由此可见,苹果公司是在明确知悉广达计算机重庆厂房存在大量学生工劳权侵害的情况下与广达计算机保持长期合作关系,并早于2016年开始筹备将生产链移至广达计算机重庆厂房。当中的合作关系,绝非一句「苹果公司与重庆广达并无生产关系」可以撇清。有关广达计算机的情况详情,可参考SACOM的调研报告:2017-Apple-Watch-3-Exploit-Student-Workers-Further

我们自2009年起针对苹果发布近二十份详尽调研报告,监督苹果公司在中国生产链存在的劳工问题。是次报告发布的内容只是冰山一角,我们将会披露更多苹果公司代工厂生产线工人访谈及报告。SACOM要求苹果公司停止逃避责任,正视有关问题,亦立刻展开全面整改,改善当中的劳动问题。

Students and Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour (SACOM) published the report disclosing the student workers abuses happened in Apple’s manufacturer – Quanta Computer today (22/9). The public were shocked knowing the labour right violations disclosed and medias have been contacting Apple for its response. Apple replied that “Chongqing Quanta is not one of Apple’s suppliers” and try to escape from the responsibility of the abuses found. However, the claim of Apple is totally different to the truth.

Firstly, as mentioned in our report, Quanta Computer is the exclusive manufacturer of Apple Watch 1 and 2 and the major manufacturer of Apple Watch 3. Apple and Quanta Computer have had a long term and close relationship. Apple should definitely be accountable for the labour right violations found in Quanta Computer.

As mentioned in the report, Apple has decided to relocate its Apple Watch production to Chongqing in 2016. Apple has also set up a “Apple Production Department” in the F0 Plant of Chongqing Quanta. Apple and Quanta Chongqing has started the mass recruitment in Chongqing and have been sending workers to Quanta’s Changshu plant for a three-month Apple production training since July. These workers will be sent back to Chongqing to officially produce Apple Watch from the coming October. Regarding this, SACOM has collected numerous solid evidence, Apple has no way to escape from its responsibility.

Therefore, It is clear that Apple have decided to keep the long-term relationship with Quanta while Apple is conscious about the student workers’ rights violations in the manufacturer. Also, Apple has started moving its production to Quanta Chongqing as early as 2016. For the details, please download SACOM’s investigative report here: 2017-Apple-Watch-3-Exploit-Student-Workers-Further

SACOM has published near 20 reports to monitor the working condition in Apple’s supply chain since 2009. The findings disclosed in the report is just part of our investigation. SACOM is going to disclose more details about Apple’s labour rights violation through workers’ interview and investigative reports. We demand Apple to take up the responsibility and confront its problems. Apple should immediately make rectification to guarantee its production workers’ well-being.