今天(5月28日) ,大学师生监察无良企业行动(SACOM)联同其他本地民间组织再次来到台湾鸿海集团在港子公司富智康(前称「富士康国际控股」)的年度股东大会,抗议鸿海集团多年来压榨工人合理待遇及薪酬,违反提高工人薪酬及工会直选的承诺。

今年初,由内地民间组织「『新生代』ilabour 课题组」曾就深圳丶郑州丶重庆丶成都四地的富士康前线工人工资丶工时丶工会丶工厂管理等方面进行调查,访问592位工人,并发表《富士康工资丶工时与生产管理调研》报告,发现富士康工人待遇仍然强差人意。

 富士康单方面削减津贴,薪酬明升暗降

富智康母公司鸿海科技集团董事长郭台铭曾於2012年高调宣称於2013年8月前将内地工人薪酬与台湾工人水平看齐,约4,000 至4,400元(人民币,下同)。尽管内地工人的基本工资在五年间由900元,上调至现时初入职基本工资1,800元;三个月试用期後的2,200元,惟厂方同时取消工人原本所得的膳食与住宿津贴及各项奖金。以深圳富士康为例,自2011年至2015年间,深圳富士康基本工资累计涨幅为12%,但对比於消费者物价指数(CPI)的累计涨幅16.9%,工人的薪酬实是明升暗降。

 基本工资过低,工人被迫自愿加班

为应付生活支出,工人只好依赖加班来赚取日常生活所需,在生产旺季,「三十休一」,即连续上班三十天才休息一天为闲事,有工人表示旺季每月加班时数高达160小时。富士康此举严重违反中国劳动法中有关休息及加班控制的规定。此外,厂内存在工时造假问题:厂方为隐瞒加班工时违法,将加班费以其他奖金来表示,要纸本纪录绕过电脑系统。

调查中,有六成工人表示「不想加班,但因为基本工资低不得不加」,只好在旺季疯狂加班积谷防饥。这种扭曲的薪资制度,令管理层容易透过管控加班来惩罚员工和裁员,如透过减加班时数来报复投诉工厂问题的工人,或者加大产量,增加工人工作压力,使他们自动辞职。

 粗暴管理依然,工人「被」请事假,甚至到外厂支援

自从2010年「连环跳」後,社会大众开始关注富士康工人的工作状况,然而受访工人反映厂内依然存在语言暴力丶性骚扰丶请假难丶休息短等问题,甚至有生产线因开工不足,强行为工人请事假,违反法律对基本工资或最低工时的规定。另外,部份工人亦表示曾被厂方以「支援」丶「分流」为名,在没有提供相关培训的情况下,调到其他岗位或工厂以减低招募新工的成本和时间。厂方既没有因此提供经济补偿,亦没有和工人订立「调岗协议」。最荒谬者是今年农历新年前後,有两万富士康工人被派往另一苹果代工厂广达电脑位於上海和江苏的工厂支援生产,期间前线工人并无与该厂签订任何合约,工人缺乏生产安全等相关保障。

 工会沦为摆设,集体谈判流於形式

富士康工会声称入会率超过90%,不过代表性一直存疑。工会联合会主席陈鹏曾任富士康对外办公室专理,被形容为郭台铭心腹,工人对工会缺乏信心不难想像。2013年2月4日,英国《金融时报》曾报道,富士康即将举行工会直选,後来事件不了了之。时至今日,受访工人形容富士康工会只是「摆设」,工人只能从厂内悬挂的横幅丶张贴的公告知道工会选举消息,工人想参选亦无法报名,更有工人表示,投票只是主管拿着选票让他们签名。早於2009年,富士康集团已经与富士康工会签订集体合同,并声称每年双方会就工资进行集体协商。富士康工人多年来工资升幅停滞,而受访工人中有45.8%表示「没有听说过工资集体协商」,某程度上反映了富士康工会未有充份代表工人利益。

自2010年富士康「连环跳」後,鸿海多次向外宣称整改方案,但多次只闻楼梯响,厂内工人未能分享公司丰盛的生产成果,生活待遇未得改善!因此,我们强烈要求鸿海集团应履行其企业社会责任,改善工人待遇:

1. 改革薪酬制度,提高基本工资至合理水平;
2. 恢复食宿津贴及各项奖金;
3. 遵守中国法律,将每周平均工时限制於44小时以内,及每周最少一日休息;
4. 改善工厂管理文化,建立和谐劳资关系;
5. 履行直选工会承诺及尊重前线工人参与工会之权利,使工会真正代表前线工人利益。

大學師生監察無良企業行動(SACOM)
2015年5月28日

註:「『新生代』ilabour 課題組」《富士康工資、工時與生產管理調研》報告可在此下載:http://www.ilabour.net/html/zhuanti/3780.html

28 May 2015, Hong Kong

Today (28 May 2015), Students & Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour, together with other local labour rights concern groups and students stage a protest at the Annual General Meeting of FIH Mobile Limited, a subsidiary of Foxconn Technology Group, to against the exploitation to Chinese workers and the broken promises of salary increment and direct election of trade union in the factories.

This year, a mainland civil society organization called “ilabour Action Group” conducted a research about the wages, working hours, trade union and the management system in Foxconn factories from Shenzhen, Zhengzhou, Chongqing and Chengdu. They have interviewed 592 workers in total. The report discovered that working conditions of Foxconn workers are still far from satisfactory.

  • Wage increased but benefits are cut unilaterally

In 2012, Terry Guo, chairman of Foxconn Technology Group, declared that the level of salary of Chinese workers would be adjusted to the same level of Taiwanese workers’ before August 2013, which is around RMB 4,000 to 4,400. Despite the increase of basic salary of mainland workers from RMB 900 to RMB 2,120 and RMB 2,450 after probation period in the past five years, the company unilaterally cancelled food & housing allowance, as well as different bonuses. From 2011 to 2015, Shenzhen Foxconn workers’ basic salary has been increased cumulatively 12% but the Consumer Price Index (CPI) has also increased cumulatively to 16.9%. The disposable income of workers is indeed lower.

  • Workers are forced to work overtime because of low basic wage

To cope with daily life expenditure, workers have to rely on overtime work for extra income. In peak season, it is common to work consecutively for 30 days with only 1 day off. Some respondents mentioned that the monthly overtime hours in peak season could reached to 160 hours which seriously violated the Chinese labour law. Moreover, in order to cover up the actual working hours, overtime time is paid in guise of bonus and the attendance record is marked on papers instead of computer system.

In the report, 60% of the respondents said that they could not refuse overtime work, because the basic wage is too low. This unreasonable salary system also forms a loophole for management to control and penalize workers through overtime work. For example, they can deliberately reduce the overtime works of workers who have complained about factory problems or largely increase the productive target of workers which pushed them to resign voluntarily.

  • Harsh management style, workers are forced to apply leave and arranged to support other factories

Since the suicides in 2010, the working condition of Foxconn is concerned by the public. However, the respondents reflected that issues such as verbal violence, sexual harassment, difficulty to apply leave, inadequate breaks still exist in the factories. Some workers were forced to apply leave because of inadequate business orders in the production lines. On the other hand, the factory reduce the cost of recruitment of new workers by arranging workers to work for other posts or other factories under the name of production support or workforce relocation. The factories do not compensate for the workers and signed any agreements with workers under such reassignment. Most ridiculously, 20,000 Foxconn workers were sent to work for another Apple supplier Quanta in Shanghai and Jiangsu to support their production, when these workers were vulnerable to occupational diseases and injuries as they did not sign any agreement with the new factories.

  • Trade Union is just a decoration, collective bargaining becomes a mere formality

The Foxconn trade union claims that the membership rate is over 90% of the total workforce, but the representation of union is always doubted. The trade union chairperson Chen Peng was the former Public Affairs manager, who is also believed as the confidant of Terry Guo. It is easy to understand why workers lack confidence of the union. On 4 February 2013, Financial Times has reported that Foxconn would organize direct union elections soon but eventually the company denied the promise. Respondents often described Foxconn trade union as merely a “decoration”. Workers have no way to apply for candidacy in the union election. Some respondents said that managers asked them to sign on blank ballot.

In 2009, Foxconn has signed a collective contract with the union, claiming that the two parties will set up collective negotiation on wages every year. Yet, the remuneration of Foxconn workers has stagnated for many years, and 45.8% respondents said that they have never heard of collective wage negotiations. It somehow reflects the Foxconn union has not adequately represented the workers interests.

Since the Foxconn Suicides in 2010, Foxconn Technology Group promised openly the remediation of the poor working conditions in its factories. However, workers still do not have the chance to enjoy the hard work they contribute. SACOM urges Foxconn Technology Group to:

1. change the pay system and increase the basic wage to a reasonable level
2. restore food and housing allowances and others bonuses to workers
3. follow the Chinese labour law and restrict the average weekly working hours to 44 hours with at least one day off per week
4. improve the management culture and establish a harmonious labour-employee relationship
5. fulfill commitments of union elections and respect the rights of frontline workers to participate trade unions so that union can truly represent the interests of workers

Students & Scholars Against Corporate Misbehaviour

Note: The ilabour Action Group’s research report on Foxconn wages, working hours and management can be downloaded at http://www.ilabour.net/html/zhuanti/3780.html (Chinese only)