自 2010 年起,SACOM 就开展苹果作业监督项目。数年过去,数码产品已经成为我们生活中 不可或缺的部份。SACOM 始终相信在科技急速发展的同时,可以包括人性。我们一直努力不 懈在中国内地进行各式研究,致力为消费者与社会大众公开苹果生产链背後的劳动情况。

於 2015 年首季,苹果在全球智能电话市场已经取得高达 92%的利润。直至现在,苹果依然是 全球最值钱的公司。蓝思科技随着苹果的发展,也早已晋身全球最大的电子产品玻璃供应商 之一。自本年 3 月蓝思科技於深圳交易所上市後,其公司主席周群飞身家暴涨,已成为中国 女首富。周氏亦同时被誉为全球科技业最富有的女性。因此,SACOM 於今年 1 至 6 月走访了 蓝思科技於深圳丶湖南两地的三间工厂,它们分别是位於深圳市的蓝思旺科技(深圳)有限公 司丶湖南榔梨的蓝思科技(长沙)有限公司及湖南浏阳的蓝思科技股份有限公司。

以下是报告中应该马上整改的重要发现:

1. 内容可疑的劳动合同
在劳动合同里,工人底薪是 RMB1,250 (浏阳地区的最低工资)或 RMB1,390(榔梨地区的最低工 资),而非招聘广告所讲及工人实际收取的底薪 RMB1,800。这让人生疑的安排有可能令工人 在面对追讨工伤丶职业病,甚至迁厂时的经济补偿遇到困难。

2. 超长加班时数
在去年 11 月至今年 3 月的生产旺季,工人只能每两星期休息一天,而且每天都要加班 3 小 时。有位来自深圳蓝思旺的工人向 SACOM 调查员表示,自己试过在旺季月份加班 110 小时。 根据中国劳动法第 41 条,每月的加班时数不可多於 36 小时;另外据苹果公司的企业行为守 则,每周的正常工作连加班时间应限制於 60 小时内。

3. 工资被扣押 20 天
蓝思扣押工人工资 15 天至 30 天不等,工人在发工资前需要辛苦经营。根据《深圳市员工工 资支付条例》第 11 条,用人单位需要在下一个月的 7 天之内发放上月工资。而在《湖南省工资支付监督管理办法》第 7 条,「用人单位通过职工大会丶职工代表大会或者其他民主协商形 式,依法制定内部工资支付制度,并向本单位劳动者公布。」
另外,根据苹果的企业行为守则,「供应商应就工资架构丶工资期与工人沟通。」不过,在蓝 思的合同中,只有一项写住工资每月发放。受访的工人当中,也没有和工厂管理进行行政政 策协商的经验。

4. 车间里使用致癌物质
在丝印部门中,溶液和油墨含有苯。根据世界卫生组织(WHO),「人体接触苯会造成一系列急 性和长期的不良健康影响,以及癌症和再生障碍性贫血等疾病」。 白血病是其中一种常见由苯引发的癌症。於 2014 年 8 月,苹果宣布在最後组装工厂全面禁用 苯及正己烷,很可惜这个禁令尚未推展至下游生产链,保护工人健康。

5. 缺乏代表性的工会
蓝思工人对工会被不熟悉。有些工人甚至认为工会只是公司的喉舌。

[報告全文可在此下載] (英文)[報告大綱可在此下載]

SACOM has started Apple campaign since 2010. Over the years, mobile gadgets have dominated our daily lives. SACOM believes that humanity could go hand in hand with technology innovation. Through our endless investigation in mainland China, we aim to disclose the working condition in Apple supply chain to consumers and the general public.

In Q1 2015, Apple took 92 per cent of profits in the world’s smartphone industry. The company remains the most valuable company in the world. Lens Technology, one of the biggest glass supplier to Apple is growing explosively. Its president Zhou Qunfei became China’s richest woman after Lens listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange. Zhou is also the world’s richest woman in tech world. SACOM is concern with labour condition behind this fast-growing successes. Therefore, we investigated three plants of Lens – Lens One Technology (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd. in Shenzhen, Guangdong province; Lens Technology (Changsha) Co., Ltd., Langli Plant in Langli, Hunan province, and Lens Technology Co., Ltd., in Liuyang, Hunan province from January to June 2015.

Here are the key findings from this investigation to be tackle immediately:

1. Work contract with suspicious details
On the work contract, basic wage was marked as RMB 1,250 (the minimum wage of Liuyang region) and RMB1,390 (the minimum wage of Langli region), instead of RMB1,800 as stated in the job advertisement and the actual wage base paid to workers. This suspicious move might make workers vulnerable for compensation for possible work injury, occupational diseases or factory relocation.

2. Excessive overtime hours
During the peak season from last November to this March, workers only had one rest day every two weeks and they had to work three hours as overtime every day. A worker from Shenzhen Lens One told us he worked 110 hours for overtime in a month. Based on Article 41 of the Chinese Labour Law, the monthly overtime hour should not exceed 36 hours; and according to Apple’s code of conduct, “a workweek shall be restricted to 60 hours, including overtime”.

3. Wages are withheld for 20 days before payment
Lens withholds workers’ wages for 15 to 30 days, bringing workers hardship to maintain their living before the payment date. According to Article 11 of the Regulations of the Shenzhen Municipality on the Wage Payment to Employees says employer should pay workers’ wages within seven days of the next month. In Hunan province, Article 7 of the Provisions of Hunan province for the Administration of Wage Payment, the payment arrangement should be through the negotiation between employer and employee meeting or general meeting of employee representatives or any other ways in a democratic manner and have open announcement of the result to other staff members.
Referring to Apple’s Code of Conduct, “Supplier shall communicate pay structure and pay periods to all workers,” yet, the worker’s contract only says wages would be paid on a monthly basis and workers interviewed have not engaged in any administration policy negotiation in the factory.

4. Use of carcinogen in shopfloor
Benzene is used in the form of solvents and paints in the printing department. According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), “Human exposure to benzene has been associated with a range of acute and long term adverse health effects and diseases, including cancer and aplastic anaemia1.”
Leukemia is often seen as one of the diseases caused by this chemical in the electronic industry. In August 2014, Apple announced the ban of benzene and another toxic chemical n-hexane in their final assembly facilities; regrettably the ban has not reached suppliers downstream to protect workers from risks.

5. Unrepresentative trade union
Trade union is not popular to Lens workers. Despite some of them lack the knowledge and understanding of the body.

[Download full report here]

[Download executive summary here]