关注新生代农民工课题组(前称「关注新生代农民工计划」项目组)就富士康最近反驳中华全国总工会 (全总)公开批评其违反劳动法规的情况发表公开信。以下为他们的声明:

———————————————-

岂止不完美?知错仍不改!——关注新生代农民工课题组致富士康科技集团的一封公开信

中华全国总工会书记处书记、法律工作部部长郭军先生在2月2日点名批评富士康长期违法安排劳动者长时间加班,致使部分劳动者出现各种心理健康问题,导致过劳死或自杀现象时有发生。全总指出富士康安排员工长期违法加班的事实,发挥了《工会法》赋予工会纠正企业违法行为的权利,履行了工会依法维护职工合法权益的神圣职责。

然而,面对全总提出的诚恳批评,富士康科技集团不但不虚心接受批评和表示改正,反而在2月3日的公开声明中发表“工人长期加班是所有制造业企业都面临的问题”、“员工长期加班与过劳死与自杀事件之间不存在关系”等谬论,把全总指出的违法行为视为“理由当然”,有悖中共中央全面推进依法治国相关文件的精神。

长期关注富士康工人劳动权益状况的关注新生代农民工课题组总结近年来针对富士康一线工人的调研和媒体有关富士康的公开报道,指出富士康在安排工人加班、工人基本工资情况、处理员工自杀事件等问题上的不合理、甚至不合法之处,希冀全总及社会各界继续监督富士康的违法行为,也恳切希望富士康主动纠正其相关行为。

 

第一,富士康并无严格执行“六休一”政策,部分事业群在生产旺季执行“两周休息一天”、“整月休息一天”的严重影响劳动者休息权的政策。

在2012年“两岸三地高校关注富士康调研组”发布的报告中就曾指出,富士康的加班时长仍远超《劳动法》规定的每月36小时的上限;并且据课题组持续跟进了解,这一状况至今仍然存在。富士康的一线工人向课题组成员反映,2014年的生产旺季存在连续多月每月加班140多个小时,甚至加班达152个小时的情况,要求工人“十三天休一天”、甚至“三十天休一天”。为了掩饰其违法行为,富士康要求工人在周日上班的时候不刷出勤卡,在工人考勤记录里捏造出所谓的“六休一”事实,并私下以奖金形式支付严重超时的加班工资。富士康故意违反劳动法律中“每周必须安排休息一天”规定,并且故意捏造事实掩饰该行为,是主观恶意极其严重的违法行为;而且作为世界五百强的企业巨头,富士康理应在遵纪守法上发挥模范作用,却以“工人长期加班是所有制造业企业都面临的问题”来为其明显违法的事实开脱,罔顾《劳动法》之基本规定,还振振有词,实属知法违法,蔑视国家法律权威,气焰嚣张!

 

第二,富士康给予工人的基本工资过低是造成工人被迫长期加班的主要原因

富士康在公开信中认为已经“不断提高员工基本薪资及加班补贴标准”,但这与我们的调研结果不相符。在2010年富士康工人连续跳楼的事件后,富士康将工人的基本工资做了较大幅度上涨,但这只是将工人原有的伙食和住宿补贴取消,并以货币形式加到基本工资中,“拆东墙补西墙”的行为中一线工人的实际收入并无实际上升。

不仅如此,自2010年之后,富士康的工资增长便陷入停滞。以深圳厂区为例,201010月份富士康便宣布将员工基本薪资调整至1800-2200元,然后四年后的今日,大部分一线工人基本工资仍只有1900-2300元,四年累计上涨幅度不过100元,甚至远低于CPI涨幅,工人反映基本待遇“比跳楼事件发生之前更差了”!这就是富士康所谓的“不断提高员工基本薪资”!而富士康总裁郭台铭在2012年曾声称要在一年之内将大陆员工基本薪资水平统一调整至和台湾相同的水平,即每月4000-4400元的水平,而如今两年半的时间过去了,郭总裁当初的公开承诺被证明不过是给100多万大陆富士康工人开的天大的玩笑,如此公开制造和传播谣言,实属别有用心!

正因为基本工资不高,一线工人为了维持日常生活消费,只能被迫接受工厂安排的严重超时加班。富士康科技集团在2013年的净利润达211亿人民币,完全有能力给100多万富士康大陆员工增加基本工资,但其却选择通过安排工人长期加班来增加工人的实际收入,视工人的工作休息权为儿戏!

 

第三,以辞退来“关爱”有心理障碍的员工,工人自杀事件近年来仍频繁发生。

早在2010年发布的《“两岸三地”高校富士康调研报告》中,我们就曾指出工人的连续跳楼自杀事件与其严苛的非人性化管理制度、超长工作时间、超负荷的劳动强度等制度性因素密切相关;并且披露了富士康通过员工关爱中心排查“问题”员工,将“心理咨询师”怀疑有心理问题的工人在24小时内辞退的事实。2013年《南方都市报》也报道了富士康员工张某因为多吃几颗安眠药而被其他工友怀疑要自杀,结果被公司以“威胁公司、扰乱正常管理”为由解聘的事实。

尽管在2012年之后关于富士康跳楼的新闻鲜见于媒体,但并不意味着那些“防跳网”完全杜绝了工人的自杀行为。2014727日,富士康龙华园区百鸣园宿舍员工康某跳楼身亡;在此之后的国庆期间,打工诗人许立志在重新进入富士康打工的第二天便跳楼自杀的新闻更是引起了媒体的广泛关注。除了这些公开报道的跳楼事件之外,根据网络消息进行统计,在2014年富士康至少还发生了多起跳楼事件。年轻工人的频繁自杀事件不应简单视为“个别员工的不幸事件”,更应该看成是富士康管理制度对工人压迫所造成恶劣后果。我们不要忘记,2010年跳楼幸存女工田玉就是因为富士康的非人性化管理才选择被迫跳楼的,而一味地将自杀归结为员工个人原因的行为,无非是为了逃避富士康所负的责任。

 

综上所述,我们认为:(1)富士康长期违法安排工人超时加班是一个铁定的事实,纵容这一现象发生的根本原因在于富士康给予工人的基本工资过低,工人只能被迫接受工厂安排的严重超时加班。(2)富士康无视近年来仍然发生的年轻工人频繁自杀事件,没有改正其在工厂管理上存在的诸多问题,其一味解释推脱责任的行为显示了富士康对工人生活乃至生命的冷漠!

我们认为,富士康集团的一纸声明既没有任何的代表性,更不可能反映100多万富士康工人的心声,其目的无非是掩盖真相,推卸责任。对工人真实生存状况的了解有赖于社会各界包括民间团体和工会秉持公正立场、真正深入工人生活进行的调研,否则,富士康工人仍然无法摆脱被代表、被代言的尴尬,他们的真实处境仍将在资方的单方声明中被掩盖!

全总忠实履行职责、主动曝光不良企业违法现象的行为值得点赞,但我们认为,努力应不止于此,在扎实调研基础上开展真正意义上的企业基层工会选举、推动真正具有工人参与基础的工资集体协商,将工人工资增长与企业利润增长挂钩,才能真正意义上杜绝中国工人长期被安排严重超时加班现象的发生。

 

关注新生代农民工课题组

2015年2月4日

[link]: http://ilabour.org/Item/Show.asp?m=1&d=3665

iLabour Action Group (formerly The new generation migrant workers concern programme” research team) has released a statement to respond to the recent statement by Foxconn Technology Group to All-China Federation of Trade Unions (ACFTU) to excuse its labour rights violations. Below is the English translation of the statement.

———————————————————

Not only not perfect: aware of wrongs, yet unwilling to change

— An open letter from the iLabour Action Group to Foxconn Technology Group

Original Chinese text: http://ilabour.org/Item/Show.asp?m=1&d=3665

On February 2nd, All-China Federation of Trade Unions (ACFTU) Party Secretary and Legal Department Executive Mr. Guo Jun specifically critiqued Foxconn for its constant assignment of illegal amounts of overtime to workers, leading to a variety of mental health problems, as well as death from overwork and suicide. The ACFTU pointed out the truth of Foxconn’s constant illegal overtime; called upon the union’s rights to rectify an enterprise’s illegal practices, as laid out in the Labor Union Law; and carried out the duty of the union to defend worker’s legal rights.
In response to the ACFTU’s sincere critique, Foxconn not only failed to humbly accept the critiques or express any commitment to change, but instead in its February 3rd public statement, made claims such as, “constant overtime is a problem faced by all manufacturing enterprises” and “there is no relationship between constant overtime and incidents of death from overwork or suicide.” It took the illegal practices pointed out by the ACFTU as “a matter of course,” running counter to the spirit widely promoted by the Party and government in its “rule of law nation” documents.
The iLabour Action Group has been continuously monitoring the state of Foxconn workers’ labor rights. We summarize our last few years of research on frontline Foxconn workers as well as media reports on Foxconn, and point out the unreasonable or even illegal areas in Foxconn’s overtime arrangements, basic wages, and handling of worker suicides. We hope the ACFTU and other sectors of society will continue to keep watch on Foxconn’s illegal practices, and that Foxconn will sincerely and actively work to correct these practices.

 

I. Foxconn has not strictly implemented a “six-to-one” work-to-rest ratio policy. Some business groups during busy periods have implemented “one day off every two weeks” or  “one day off per month” policies that seriously impact workers’ rights to rest.
The 2012 report of the “two-coast, three-region Foxconn-watch student action group” points out that Foxconn’s overtime exceeded the 36 hour maximum specified in the Labor Law, and according to our follow-up research, this condition has not changed. One frontline Foxconn worker reported to the research group that during the busy season, he worked over 140 hours of overtime per month for several months in a row, one month even working 152 hours of overtime. The factory requested workers take “13-to-1”, or even “30-to-1” work-to-rest arrangements. In order to cover up such illegal practices, Foxconn instructed workers not to punch in to work on Sundays, in order that workers’ records would reflect the supposed “6-to-1” ratio, while secretly compensating the extremely excessive overtime in the form of bonuses. Foxconn intentionally ignored the “one day of rest per week” requirement specified in China’s Labor Law, and intentionally fabricated appearances to cover up these practices; this is extremely malicious illegal behavior. Furthermore, as a Fortune 500 major enterprise, Foxconn should be acting as a model in respecting the law, but instead it offered “constant overtime is a problem faced by all manufacturing enterprises” as an excuse for its obviously illegal behavior, arrogantly ignoring the basic requirements of the Labor Law. It knowingly breaks the law, holding contempt the authority of our nation’s legal system!

II. Foxconn’s inadequate base wage is the primary reason that workers are forced to accept constant overtime.
As expressed in its open letter, Foxconn believes it has already been “continuously increasing workers’ base wages and subsidies”, but this does not accord with our research findings. In 2010, after the series of Foxconn workers suicides, Foxconn enacted a relatively large increase in workers’ base wages, but this was in truth simply cutting the room and board subsidies workers had previously received and adding them in cash form into workers’ base wages. There was no real increase in frontline workers’ real income.
Furthermore, since 2010, Foxconn’s wage growth has stagnated. In Shenzhen, for example, Foxconn announced in October 2010 that workers’ base wages would be raised to 1800-2200 yuan. Four years later, most frontline workers’ base wages are only 1900-2300 yuan. In four years, wages have only increased by 100 yuan, even less than the increase in the consumer product index. Workers have commented that their basic compensation today is “even worse than before the suicides”! This is Foxconn’s so called “continuously increasing workers base wages and subsidies”! In 2012, Foxconn CEO Terry Gou once declared he would in one year’s time increase mainland Chinese workers’ base wages to the level of Taiwanese workers’, approximately 4000-4400 yuan per month. Two and a half years later, it is evident that Gou’s public promise was just a joke played on Foxconn’s million plus mainland workers. Gou had other motives in publically creating and promoting such a rumor.
Precisely because base wages are low, in order to cover basic living expenses, workers are forced to accept the severely excessive overtime arranged by the factory. In 2013, Foxconn’s achieved a net profit of 21.1 billion RMB. It is perfectly capable of raising the base wages of its one million plus mainland workers, but it instead it chooses to bolster workers’ incomes through constant overtime, taking workers’ rights to rest as a joke.

III. “Caring” for those with mental health issues by dismissal, frequent worker suicides continuing to happen.
The 2010 “Two-coast, Three-region” Foxconn-watch Research Report pointed out that Foxconn’s serial worker suicides were intimately related to  systematic factors like Foxconn’s harsh and inhumane management system, excessively long work hours, and excessive labor intensity. We also revealed that Foxconn was using its “staff care center” to discover “problem” staff, firing workers who “mental health consultants” suspected of having mental health problems within 24 hours. In 2013, the Southern Metropolis Daily reported the story of Foxconn worker Zhang, who was fired for “threatening the company and disrupting normal management” because of taking some sleeping pills in what other workers mistook for a suicide attempt.
Though since 2012, news of Foxconn suicides have rarely appeared in the media, this does not mean the “suicide prevention nets” have completely stopped worker suicides. On July 27, 2014, Foxconn worker Kang jumped to his death from Longhua Foxconn’s Baimingyuan dormitory. Subsequently, approaching National Day, worker poet Xu Lizhi jumped on the second day of his return to working at Foxconn, attracting widespread media attention. In addition to these publically reported suicides, according to our combing of online information, there have been many more suicide incidents in 2014. These frequent suicides of young workers should not simply be understood as “individual misfortunes;” they should be understood as the odious result of workers’ oppression under Foxconn’s management system. We must not forget, Tian Yu—a female worker who attempted suicide in 2010—was pushed to jumping because of Foxconn’s inhumane management. To attribute these suicides to worker’s personal reasons is just Foxconn’s way of evading responsibility
Overall, we believe: (1) Foxconn’s constant illegal overtime arrangements are an absolute fact, and the basic reason for this phenomenon is that Foxconn’s base wages are too low, forcing workers to accept the factory’s seriously excessive overtime. (2) Foxconn has ignored the continued frequent suicides of young workers in recent years, and has not corrected the many problems with its factory management. The attempt to explain and deny responsibility for these practices demonstrates Foxconn’s lack of concern for workers lives!
We believe Foxconn’s statement is absolutely not representative of, and cannot possibly reflect, the thoughts of one million plus Foxconn workers. Its purpose can only be to mask the truth and deny responsibility. A real understanding of worker’s living conditions depends on the research of various sectors of society, including civilian groups and unions, coming from a position of fairness and deep inquiry into workers’ lives. Otherwise, Foxconn workers cannot escape being represented and spoken for; their real circumstances will remain masked by the singular declaration of the enterprise.
The ACFTU should be commended for faithfully carrying out its responsibilities and taking the initiative to expose this enterprise’s harmful illegal circumstances, but we believe their efforts should not stop here, and should, on the basis of solid research, hold real enterprise base level union elections and promote wage collective bargaining on a basis of true worker participation, thus linking workers’ wages with enterprise profit. Only thus can they truly eliminate the phenomenon of Chinese workers’ constant and severely excessive overtime.