作者: 大学师生监察无良企业行动顾问 陈慧玲 (Jenny Chan)

2010年年初以来,发生了一件令人震惊的事,深圳富士康10名员工试图自杀。其中,8名死亡,另2名受伤。他们都在18岁到24岁之间,正值最美好的青春年华。他们的逝去应当更广泛地唤醒社会,我们需要重新反思现有发展模式所导致的巨大成本,这种模式以经济增长为目的,却牺牲了人的尊严。

2010518,九位中国大陆及香港学者发表公开声明,呼吁富士康和政府解决新生代农民工的问题。声明不无痛心地写道:

对于新生代农民工中的很多人来说,自他们走出家门的那一刻起,就没有像其父母辈那样想过再回家做农民,就此而言,他们是踏上了一条进城打工的不归之路。当看 不到打工通向城市安家生活的可能性的时候,打工的意义轰然坍塌,前进之路已经堵死,后退之路早已关闭,身陷这种处境中的新生代农民工在身份认同方面出现了 严重危机,由此带来一系列的心理和情绪问题——这正是我们从富士康员工走上不归路背后看到的深层的社会和结构性原因。

30年来,中国的发展战略不仅达成了一项经济奇迹,它也使得地区间的不平等加剧,工资上涨长期停滞,农民工的公民权和人权被剥夺。下面,我们将首先概述城乡经济差距扩大背景下国内的劳动力流动现象。其次,我们要回顾近期的富士康自杀案例,以了解那些为生存而挣扎着的工人们的困境。最后,我们呼吁关心此事的公众,一起来营建一个尊重工人权利的可持续的社会。

作为低薪工人和二等公民的中国农民工

中国14亿人口中的10%,即数以亿计的农民,从农村走向城市。这些国内移民被称作中国的新工人群体。他们被视为廉价劳动力的重要来源,并且能通过训练而很好地适应于市场的竞争压力。与社会主义时代国企老工人们相比,年轻的农民工没有过份的福利待遇方面的要求,也因此,新生代农民工被誉为中国现代化建设的主力军。

与热闹繁华、面向全球的沿海出口加工地区相比,中国广大的农村被视作落后的荒地。农业生产的去集体化之下,农户之间的家庭收入的差距也随之拉大。年 轻人向往着与时代并进的生活,而城市似乎正是他们的梦想可以成为现实的地方。对更好的未来的渴望促使着一个个农村人离开自己的家乡,踏入都市,去寻找新的 机会。而乡村向都市人口迁移的结果则是农村的停滞不前。

在中国政府推动市场改革下,出口导向型经济的确证明了它可以带来经济的增长。在中国大陆,亚洲投资的企业和国内的生产厂家,迅速跻身进入世界资本主义体系,成为西方跨国公司的承包商或分包商。但是这种成就,很大程度上要归功于中国农民工低廉的劳动力价格所带来的优势。

作为现代新工人, 他们的农村经验非但得不到老板的重视,有时候甚至还会被认为对生产过程构成阻碍。农民工必须与自己的过去挥手说再见,把自己变成一块白板,从而充分接受资 本增值所要求的训练。为了加速这种转变,雇主往往会针对农民工的不足之处,指出他们并不具备专业技能。与此同时,其它数以亿计的工作竞争者让每个农民工都 感到一种挥之不去的焦虑。这种焦虑时刻提醒着他们,自己随时都可以被替代。

文章全文可见:http://sacom.hk/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/dying-young-chi-foxconn-sacom-25may20101.pdf

Author: Jenny Chan, SACOM Advisor

Introduction

Since the beginning of 2010, a startling ten Foxconn employees in Shenzhen tried to end their lives. Eight died, while two survived their injuries. All were between 18 and 25 years old—in the prime of their youth—and their loss should awaken wider society to reflect upon the costs of a development model that sacrifices dignity for economic growth.

On 18 May 2010, nine mainland Chinese and Hong Kong academics issued an open statement calling on Foxconn and the government to do justice for the younger generation of migrant workers. The statement painfully reads:

From the moment they [the new generation of migrant workers] step beyond the doors of their houses, they never think of going back to farming like their parents. In this sense, they see no other options when they enter the city to work. The moment they see there is little possibility of building a home in the city through hard work, the very meaning of their work collapses. The path ahead is blocked, and the road to retreat is closed. Trapped in this situation, the new generation of migrant workers faces serious identity crisis and, in effect, this magnifies psychological and emotional problems. Digging into this deeper level of our societal and structural conditions, we come closer to understanding the ‘no way back’ mentality of these Foxconn employees.

China’s development strategy throughout these 30 years not only accomplished an economic miracle. It deepened regional inequalities, prolonged stagnation of wages, and deprived migrant workers’ citizenship and human rights. In the following, we first outline the pattern of internal labor migration under the widening gaps between rural and urban economies. Second, we review the recent cases of Foxconn suicides to probe into the working lives of those who struggle to live on. Finally, we appeal to the concerned public to nurture a sustainable community that respects workers’ rights.

Chinese migrants as low-paid workers and secondary citizens

More than 10 percent of the 1.4 billion people in China, that is, hundreds of millions of “peasants” from the countryside, are on the move. These internal migrants are hailed as China’s new working class. They are preferred as a low cost source of labor and considered better fit for training and adaption to the competitive pressures of the market. In contrast to older state-owned-enterprise workers who seem hopelessly stuck in their socialist mentality and welfare dependency, new generations of peasants-turned-workers are said to be building China’s modernization.

In comparison with global-oriented export processing zones, the vast Chinese countryside is viewed as a wasteland of backwardness. The decollectivization of agricultural production differentiated the rural economy and spurred rising income differences between households. Young people long for a life attuned to the times, and the city is where everything happens. Aspirations for a better future have motivated many from the countryside to seek new opportunities in the cities. The resulting rural-to-urban migration left villages associated with stagnation.

Under the direction of the Chinese authoritarian state, China’s export-oriented economic model proved it could deliver economic growth. Asian-invested enterprises and domestic manufacturers on mainland China have risen quickly to become contractors and sub-contractors to Western multinationals, depending on the advantage of low-paid migrant workers.

The rural experience of these new workers is oftentimes irrelevant or even considered a detriment to the manufacturing process.Migrants must liquidate their past and become a blank slate receptive to training. To quicken the transformation, employers draw attention to migrants’ deficiencies and missing skills. Furthermore, with hundreds of millions competing for jobs, migrants feel a perpetual sense of anxiety, continuously reminded of their replacability.

Workers-of-rural-origins are discriminated culturally and materially. Their younger cohorts in particular find themselves insecure, neither belonging to the city nor feeling able to return to a livelihood in the countryside. Some have their employment histories brought to an end from work injuries. Still some others, under desperate conditions, have taken their own lives. The priority given to economic development in China has reached a critical point where we must reflect on the deeper costs of a growth-above-all-else industrial policy.

Full text of the article is available at: http://sacom.hk/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/dying-young_sucide-chinas-booming-economy.pdf.