於2014年8月13日,苹果公司宣布在iPhone及iPad的组装代工厂停用苯及正己烷两种有毒物质。苹果公司此迟来的承诺正好对应了多年以来大学师生监察无良企业行动(SACOM) 及各方劳工关注团体针对苹果公司代工厂的倡议运动。然而,本会就苹果公司拒绝在下游代工厂推行此政策感到失望。

苹果公司声称曾就22间组装代工厂使用苯及正己烷的情况进行调查,却没有公布详细调查报告。过去,苹果公司亦从未公开违反其生产安全守则的代工厂的详细资料及跟进情况。在这22间组装代工厂以外的代工厂及其他下游代工厂的工人职安健情况依然令人忧虑。因为,他们可能继续受着苯丶正己烷及其他未知化学品的威胁。本会要求苹果公司立即监督其他下游代工厂停用苯和正己烷及公布所有在其产品生产过程中使用的化学品。同时,苹果公司亦必须保证所有为其代工的工人详细了解生产期间接触到的所有化学品丶认识一切相关职安健知识丶提供足够保护装备及承担所有因工作接触有害化学品而患病的工人的所有医疗开支。

於2009年,苏州联建科技有近200名工人在工作期间因使用正己烷中毒[1]。工人表示工厂一直没有告知他们正己烷会导致工人身体神经受损。最终,多名工人并没有得到全数医疗费用补偿,更被迫辞职。

毫无疑问,前线工人在苹果公司生产链中是最为关键的持份者。现时,苹果公司由上而下的整改方案根本无法有效监督各层生产链彻底取缔有毒化学品。本会重申具持续性的劳资关系对停止劳权剥削和劳资冲突极为重要。本会对先前苹果公司长期商业夥伴富士康对工会直选的承诺出尔反尔感到非常失望[2]。我们继续要求苹果公司作为全球最有商业价值及为人熟悉的公司马上坐言起行,支持其代工厂成立由民主直选产生的前线员工工会。

SACOM会继续多年来的使命,通过监督苹果公司作业行为,为工人争取安全丶健康及有尊严的工作环境。

2014年8月16日

— 声明完–

下载中文版声明原文[pdf]

Hong Kong, 16 August 2014

On 13 August 2014, Apple announced the ban on benzene and n-hexane in the final assembly facilities of its iPhone and iPad products, a response to SACOM and other labour concern groups’ long-term campaign for a better working condition in Apple supply chain. Regrettably, it is a too-late commitment and there are still miles to achieve a healthy and safe environment to all workers in the Apple supply chain, when the ban is only effective in final assembly factories.

In Apple’s announcement, it claimed that investigations were conducted in 22 final assembly factories for the use of benzene and n-hexane. The investigative reports are undisclosed and Apple does not reveal the consequence of suppliers that failed to meet with safety standard. The health and safety of workers in the non-investigated factories and the downstream suppliers remain worrying. They could be still under the risk of benzene, n-hexane and many other unknown chemicals. SACOM urges Apple to deepen the ban to the entire supply chain and release a full list of chemical used in production. Apple should ensure all workers are well informed with chemical details and be equipped with related work safety knowledge and adequate protective gears, and support all necessary medical expenditure for workers who are harmed due to the production of its products.

In 2009, around 200 workers from United Win Suzhou were poisoned by n-hexane[1]. They were not informed the details of the toxin. Prolonged exposure to the substance cause workers suffered from nerve damage. Eventually, many of them did not get full compensation of the medical expenditure and were forced to quit the factory.

It is undoubtful that frontline workers are key stakeholder to Apple supply chain. The current top-down approach of Apple’s remedial programme could not guarantee the implementation of the harmful substance ban. SACOM stresses that sustainable industrial relations is crucial to stop labour right violation and labour conflict. SACOM has been disappointed by the broken promise of direct elected trade union by Apple’s long-term partner Foxconn[2]. And still we demand Apple, as the world’s most valuable and popular company, to act further to the improvement of the workplace by supporting the workers in its suppliers to set up fully representative trade union by democratic and direct election.

SACOM will continue our mission – to promote a safe, health and dignified working condition for all workers – by tireless monitoring Apple’s production behaviour.


— End of statement —
Download the full statement [pdf]